Author Topic: Extra fuel  (Read 2820 times)

MOguy

• View Profile
Extra fuel
« on: February 17, 2015, 12:30:46 PM »
I have an 01 wrangler and range is limited.  I am new to over landing.  I know there are 5 gallon jerry cans and mounts.  I like the idea of using a boat fuel tank and strapping it to a hitch carrier.  To me this seems more stable but not sure if a boat fuel tank could handle the abuse.

How are other here dealing with carrying extra fuel?
2001 Wrangler lifted, 34X10.50 Super Swampers, locked, winch, belly up this and that.

arveetek

• View Profile
Re: Extra fuel
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2015, 05:42:17 PM »
On my 97 Wrangler, I've strapped a 5 gallon plastic tank to my spare tire on a few trips, and while it was plenty secure, the fuel always sloshed out no matter how tight I got the cap and vent.  You really need a storage container designed for off-road use.

Casey
1995 Chevy Tahoe 2 door, 6.5L turbo diesel, 4L80E auto, NV241, 3.42's, Eaton ADL in rear, 285/75R16 BFG TA K02's on Toyota steelies, Roadmaster Active Suspension in rear, 1" crank in front, Westin brush guard

Jayston

• Follow Me,
  • Global Moderator
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2015, 08:42:27 PM »
I've seen people ratchet strap 5 gallon jerry cans to the spare tire with success.

nfbeckman

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2015, 07:33:14 AM »
On my 97 Wrangler, I've strapped a 5 gallon plastic tank to my spare tire on a few trips, and while it was plenty secure, the fuel always sloshed out no matter how tight I got the cap and vent.  You really need a storage container designed for off-road use.

Casey

You will need to get the non-carb compliant fuel cans. They don't leak no matter what. I'll post a link when I find out where I got mine. They are steel and look just like a NATO can.

nfbeckman

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2015, 08:14:26 AM »
http://pages.ebay.com/link/?nav=item.view&alt=web&id=171350910626