Author Topic: Mud Terrain or All Terrain for NW Arkansas?  (Read 474 times)

mudmud

• View Profile
Mud Terrain or All Terrain for NW Arkansas?
« on: January 13, 2017, 10:46:24 AM »
I just got a new 98 4runner (My first 4R and I love it already) and she needs some new shoes. I'm brand new to overlanding but super interested in getting out and exploring where most can't. My question is simply: What tires are recommended for this area? My rig is also my primary vehicle, so it will see mostly highway miles. I work from home so I don't drive much, but still, it'll see more highway than trail. I was looking at the BFG KO2s which look super gnarly and tough, but if they won't give me traction on the trails around here, I won't waste my money.

Looking forward to any advice and hopefully meeting up with some of you guys this year!

arveetek

• View Profile
Re: Mud Terrain or All Terrain for NW Arkansas?
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2017, 02:10:24 PM »
It really boils down to personal preference.  I've run all three types of tires on my rig:

1. Highway tread, before I got into off-roading with my Tahoe
2. Mud Terrains, great for off-roading, not so much for daily driving
3. All Terrains, good mix of both off-road and daily driving

The Mud Terrains are perfect for a rig that sees some serious off-road trails, and very little highway driving.  There are three problems I experienced with M/T's: short tread life, noise, and balancing.  Naturally, the more aggressive the tread, the shorter the life span, and the harder to keep balanced.  Although various M/T tread patterns vary, you can expect M/T's to be noisy, and to grow even noisier and more out of balance with age.